World History and International Relations

Migration management case study: Spain and Morocco

The article analyzes the contradictions between the country of destination and origin of immigrants and defines the directions of cooperation between them to regulate migration processes. It considers the evolution of Spanish and Morocco immigration laws and the development of the bilateral relations to consolidate joint model to manage migration. It includes data of the intensity of the migration flows, their predominantly labor character and the dependence on the economic situation in the receiving country.

The French society and the referendum of the «constitution of Europe» in 2005

This article is focused on studying the preparation and conduct of the referendum of «the Constitution for Europe» in France. Particular attention is paid to analysis of the evolution of the attitude of the French electorate toward the idea of a “referendum” and a “Constitution for Europe” from the moment the president’s announcement about his intention to hold a referendum, and its results that led to the rejection of «the Constitution». Besides, the internal factors that contributed to the negative outcome of the referendum are discussed.

US interaction with the TPSEP countries within the trade policy of the George W. Bush administration

The article is devoted to the study of the formation of the US foreign trade course in the Asia-Pacific region. Special attention is paid to the factors in bilateral relations with the TPSEP countries, which had a key influence on the decision of the George W. Bush administration to join the partnership. The author comes to the conclusion that failures in the implementation of the multilateral format of regional trade liberalization contributed to the fact that the United States entered the negotiation process on the TPSEP.

The Catholic Church and the colonial policy of France during the Revolutionary period of the late XVIII Century

The article examines the problem of the ideological and policy influence of the Church on colonial politics and the establishment of equality during the 1789 Revolution, based on the material of the Parliamentary Archives, memoirs of contemporaries and an extensive body of scientific literature. The author shows that in the first years after the Revolution neither the Church nor the State sought to provide the inhabitants of the colonies with equal rights with the population of the republic, which caused discontent that threatened the success of further revolutionary transformations.

Religious factor in the life and work of Alexander Pope

The article examines the importance of the religious factor in the life of the poet. The anti-Catholic politics of England is seen as the historical context that influenced Pope’s life and personality. Alexander Pope appears as a man who was able to use his extremely unprofitable religious affiliation in forming a career as a professional writer. The author examines the function of Catholicism, the combination of deism, concepts of natural religion, and Christian ideas in Pope’s enlightenment consciousness.

Religious views of Cardinal Gabriele Paleotti on sacred art

Being founded upon the book «Instructions on religious and secular images» (1582), the article examines cardinal Gabriele Paleotti’s views on sacred art. The author explores the issue of perception of painting as a God-pleasing art, exposes the ideological aspect of sacred painting and reveals the cardinal’s complex evidence base on the need for the existence of religious images in churches and their significance in the life of every person.

Transformation of the image of power on the medals of the last Valois during the Religious wars

 The article is devoted to the study of images of Royal power that were used by the last Valois dynasty’s representatives, reflecting the transformations that occurred in connection with the attempt to strengthen the Royal authority with intensification of secular power and gaining spiritual power.

Marguerite of Angouleme and the problems of Renaissance religious dissent

The article is devoted to the religious pursuit of Marguerite of Angouleme. Analyzing the creative legacy of the Duchess, her extensive correspondence with representatives of the reformation movement, the author convincingly proves that, despite the fact that Marguerite was the patroness of the reformation movement in France, and she was described as having religious and ethical searches characteristic of many representatives of the Renaissance era, she did not completely break with the Catholic faith, remaining a transitional figure in spiritual terms.

Relations between the Livonian Order and the Archbishops of Riga in the context of the Reformation and the question of the political structure of Livonia

The article reveals the nature and features of the relationship between the Livonian Order and the Archbishops of Riga during the Livonian Reformation, in 1521–1558, and reveals their attitude towards the spread of Lutheranism, the influence of the reformation processes on the political life of Livonia. It also examines the legal, political and ideological reasons and prerequisites of the Livonian Master Wolter von Plettenberg historical choice.

US public diplomacy in India: Obama’s legacy

The article discusses the main trends in US public diplomacy in India under Barack Obama. The Obama presidency was characterized by “Pivot to Asia”. India took one of the dominant positions in Obama’s Asian strategy. Furthermore, public diplomacy became the leading strategy tool. Particular attention is paid to the evolution of public diplomacy concepts. Two areas prevailed in public diplomacy in India – educational programs and the “women’s issue”. Washington also launched programs to increase literacy and access to technology.

Pages

Всеобщая история и международные отношения

Управление миграционными процессами на примере Испании и Марокко

В статье рассматриваются противоречия между странами приема и странами-донорами миграции, определяются направления сотрудничества между ними для регулирования миграционных процессов. В историческом контексте исследуются эволюция миграционного законодательства Испании и Марокко и формирование совместной модели управления миграцией. Приводятся данные об интенсивности миграционных потоков, подчеркивается их преимущественно трудовой характер и оценивается зависимость от экономической ситуации в стране приема.

Французское общество и референдум по «конституции Европы» в 2005 году

Статья посвящена изучению процесса подготовки, хода и результатов референдума по «конституции для Европы» во Франции. Особое внимание уделяется анализу изменения отношения французского электората к идее «референдума» и «конституции» с момента заявления президента о намерении провести плебисцит, а также выявлению результатов, которые привели к отказу от поддержки документа. Рассматриваются внутренние причины, способствовавшие негативному исходу референдума.

Взаимодействие США со странами СТСЭП в рамках торговой политики администрации Дж. Буша-младшего

Статья посвящена изучению особенностей формирования внешнеторгового курса США в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе. Особое внимание уделено факторам в двухсторонних отношениях со странами СТСЭП (Соглашение о транстихоокеанском стратегическом экономическом партнерстве), оказавших ключевое влияние на решение администрации Дж. Буша-младшего о присоединении к партнерству. Формулируется вывод, согласно которому неудачи в ходе реализации многостороннего формата региональной либерализации торговли способствовали тому, что США вступили в переговорный процесс по СТСЭП. 

Католическая церковь и колониальная политика Франции в период революции конца XVIII века

В статье на материале Парламентских архивов, мемуаров современников и обширного комплекса научной литературы рассматривается проблема идеологического и политического влияния церкви на колониальную политику и установление равноправия граждан в период революции 1789 г. Констатируется, что в первые годы после революции ни церковь, ни государство не стремились обеспечить жителям колоний равные права с населением республики, что вызывало недовольство, ставившее под угрозу успех осуществления дальнейших революционных преобразований.

Религиозный фактор в жизни и творчестве Александра Поупа

На материале биографии Александра Поупа, его сочинений и переписки выясняется значение религиозного фактора в судьбе поэта. Антикатолическая политика Англии рассматривается как исторический контекст, влиявший на жизнь и личность Поупа. Александр Поуп предстает человеком, сумевшим использовать свою, казалось бы, крайне невыгодную конфессиональную принадлежность при формировании карьеры профессионального литератора. Исследуются роль католицизма, сочетание деизма, концепций естественной религии и христианских идей в просветительском мировоззрении Поупа.

Взгляды кардинала Габриэле Палеотти на религиозное искусство

На материале книги «Наставления о религиозных и светских изображениях» (1582 г.) в статье рассматриваются взгляды кардинала Габриэле Палеотти на сакральное искусство. Затрагивается проблема восприятия живописи как богоугодного искусства; выявляется идеологический аспект сакральной живописи; раскрывается сложная доказательная база кардинала в отношении необходимости существования религиозных образов в храмах и их значения в жизни каждого человека.

Трансформация образа власти на медалях последних Валуа в период Религиозных войн

Статья посвящена изучению образов королевской власти, которые использовали последние представители династии Валуа, отражая трансформации, происходившие в связи с попыткой укрепления королевского авторитета путем усиления светской и обретения духовной власти.

Маргарита Ангулемская и проблемы ренессансного религиозного инакомыслия

Статья посвящена религиозным исканиям Маргариты Ангулемской. Анализируя творческое наследие герцогини, ее обширную переписку с представителями реформационного движения, автор доказывает, что, несмотря на покровительство движению Реформации во Франции со стороны Маргариты, ей были присущи религиозно-этические искания, характерные для многих представителей ренессансной эпохи, она не порывает окончательно с католической верой, оставаясь в духовном плане фигурой переходной.

Взаимоотношения Ливонского ландмейстерства Тевтонского ордена и рижских архиепископов в условиях Реформации и вопрос о политическом устройстве Ливонии

В статье выявляются характер и особенности взаимоотношений Ливонского ландмейстерства Тевтонского ордена и рижских архиепископов во время Ливонской Реформации в 1521–1558 гг.: рассматривается их отношение к распространению лютеранства, влияние Реформации на политическую жизнь Ливонии; изучаются правовые, политические и идеологические причины и предпосылки исторического выбора, сделанного ливонским ландмейстером Вольтером фон Плеттенбергом.

Публичная дипломатия США в Индии: наследие Обамы

В статье рассматриваются основные тенденции развития публичной дипломатии США в Индии при Бараке Обаме. Президентство Обамы характеризовалось «поворотом на Восток». Индия сразу заняла одну из доминирующих позиций в азиатской стратегии Обамы. Ведущим инструментом стратегии стала публичная дипломатия. Особое внимание уделяется эволюции концепций публичной дипломатии, где превалировали два направления – образовательные программы и «женский вопрос». Вашингтон также запустил программы по повышению уровня грамотности населения и доступа к технологиям.

Страницы