World History and International Relations

The King’s Body Guard of the Yeomen: Foot Ceremonial Guard of Charles II Stuart

The article shows the role and place of the yeomen of the guard institution in the Royal court and armed forces system during the reign of Charles II. Particular attention is drawn to the position of officers of the company at the Royal court.

Struggle for Power Among the English City Elite in the XIV– XV Centuries

In the article, the question of city self-management organization in the XIV–XV century England is considered. On the example of Bristol and York it is found out whether it is possible to speak about democratic principles of the city authorities’ election, who was a part of city elite and how it was formed.

The Tartar-Mongol Invasion and Urban Development in Central Europe

The article discusses the question of the Mongol invasion impact on the Central European countries (Poland, Bohemia and Hungary) urban development in the XIII century. It is concluded that the devastating consequences of the invasion accelerated the acceptation a new model of urban system in the Central European region, which was typologically akin to Western European urbanism.

The Northern Realm of Canute the Great in Historiography

The article analyzes the place of king Canute the Great’s (1016 – 1035 state in foreign and national historiography. Most of the works published today in different languages are considered. Until now, such work has not been published in Russian.

The Origin of the Arab-Muslim Embassy Service (VII Century)

The article discusses the problem connected with the emergence of the Arab-Muslim ambassadorial service. The special role of religious dogmas in the formation of the principles and approaches of Muslim diplomacy is noted. Also, specific historical cases are explored.

Chronology of Stone and Lead Anchor Stocks of the Ancient World

The article deals with the problem of typology and chronology of ancient wooden anchors with stone and lead stocks. The author notes the lack of elaboration of anchor chronology by previous researchers. Due to the fact that there are new findings, it is possible to extend previous ideas significantly. The chronology of the main types of anchor stocks, as well as their variants (subtypes) is substantiated.

On the Possibility and Prospects of Deciphering Monograms on the Anonymous Obols of the Bosporus Coinage

It is not for the first century that the study of numismatics of ancient Bosporus is continued. The result has been the description of many kinds of coins of this coinage. In their classification, scientists paid attention to both the image and the legend, including those ciphered in monograms. The subject of this study was the ligatures from anonymous obols of Bosporus coinage. The fact is that neither they nor their similarities have been deciphered yet. However, in these notations, the names Padr and Itro were recognized.

The Evolution of George H. W. Bush Administration's Egyptian Policy (1989-1992)

The article considers the policy of George H. W. Bush Republican administration towards Egypt. The author analyzes the background, factors of formation, evolution and results of the U.S. Egyptian policy during the period under review.

F. Franco. Prevarication (1943–1945)

The article deals with the foreign policy of Spain in the period of the Second World War. The author analyses the search of a special political way, which allowed Francisco Franco to prevent the participation in the war, retain the power and preserve the relative stability in the country. Special attention is paid to the development of relations between Francoist Spain with Germany, Italy, USA and Great Britain.

The National Afro-American League: At the Dawn of the Black Protest Movement in the USA (1887–1894)

The article is devoted to the analysis of the creation and activities of the National Afro-American League – the first black protest organization established under the leadership of the black journalist Timothy Thomas Fortune. The main goal of this organization was the struggle against the legislative oppression of the African Americans, as well as the achievement of equal human rights and freedoms regardless of the color of skin.

Pages

Всеобщая история и международные отношения

Йомены-телохранители: пешая церемониальная гвардия Карла II Стюарта

В статье показаны роль и место института йоменов-телохранителей гвардии в системе королевского двора и вооруженных сил в правление Карла II. Особое внимание обращается на положение офицеров роты при королевском дворе.

Борьба за власть в среде городской элиты Англии в XIV–XV веках

В статье рассматривается вопрос об организации городского самоуправления в Англии XIV–XV веков. На примере истории городов Бристоль и Йорк выясняется, можно ли говорить о демократических принципах при избрании городских органов власти, кто входил в состав городской элиты и каким образом она формировалась.

Монголо-татарское нашествие и урбанистическое развитие стран Центральной Европы

В статье рассматривается вопрос о влиянии монголо-татарского нашествия на урбанистическое развитие стран Центральной Европы (Польши, Чехии и Венгрии) в XIII в. Обосновывается вывод о том, что разрушительные последствия нашествия способствовали ускорению утверждения в центральноевропейском регионе новой модели городского строя, типологически родственной западноевропейскому урбанизму.

Северная держава Кнута Великого в историографии

В статье анализируется место государства короля Кнута Великого (1016–1035) в зарубежной и отечественной историографии. Рассматривается большая часть изданных на сегодня работ на разных языках. До настоящего момента на русский язык подобная работа не переводилась.

Зарождение арабо-мусульманской посольской службы (VII в.)

В статье рассматривается проблема, связанная с зарождением арабо-мусульманской посольской службы. Отмечается особая роль религиозных постулатов в формировании принципов и подходов раннемусульманской дипломатии. Также анализируются конкретные исторические случаи.

Хронология каменных и свинцовых якорных штоков античного времени

В статье рассматривается проблема типологии и хронологии античных деревянных якорей с каменными и свинцовыми штоками. Автор отмечает недостаточную проработку хронологии якорей предыдущими исследователями и отмечает, что благодаря новым находкам можно существенно дополнить прежние представления. Обоснована хронология не только основных типов якорных штоков, но и их вариантов (подтипов).

К вопросу о возможности и перспективах дешифровки монограмм на анонимных оболах боспорского чекана

Уже не первое столетие продолжается изучение нумизматики античного Боспора. В результате было описано множество разновидностей монет его чекана. При их классификации ученые обращали внимание как на изображения, так и на легенды, в том числе и на зашифрованные в монограммы. Предметом изучения стали лигатуры, известные на анонимных оболах боспорского чекана. Дело в том, что ни они, ни им подобные до сих пор не расшифрованы. В итоге в этих обозначениях удалось разобрать имена Падр и Итро.

Эволюция египетской политики администрации Дж. Буша-старшего (1989–1992 годы)

В статье рассматривается политика республиканской администрации Дж. Буша-старшего в отношении Египта. Автором анализируются предпосылки, факторы формирования, эволюция и итоги египетской политики США в рассматриваемый период.

Ф. Франко. Политика лавирования (1943–1945 годы)

В статье рассматривается внешняя политика Испании в годы Второй мировой войны. Автор анализирует поиск особого пути, позволившего Франсиско Франко избежать участия в войне, сохранить власть и относительную стабильность внутри страны. Особое внимание уделено развитию отношений франкистской Испании с Германией, Италией, США и Англией. 

Национальная афроамериканская лига: на заре негритянского протестного движения в США (1887–1894)

Статья посвящена анализу создания и деятельности Национальной афроамериканской лиги – первой негритянской протестной организации, созданной под руководством известного чернокожего журналиста Тимоти Томаса Форчуна. Главной задачей этой организации была борьба с законодательными притеснениями афроамериканцев, а также достижение гражданского равноправия вне зависимости от цвета кожи. В качестве методов борьбы Национальная афроамериканская лига использовала агитацию в прессе, проведение митингов и составление петиций в органы власти.

Страницы