Regional History and Local Studies

Incomes and Consumption of the Population of the Lower Volga in the Second Half of the 1960s – the mid-1980s

The article analyzes the dynamics of income and consumption of the population of the Lower Volga region during the pre-perestroika twenty years. Based on a wide range of evidence sources, we reveal the impact of the economic and foreign policy factors on the living standards in the region in 1965–1985. In conclusion, an assessment for the development level of the Soviet society in the mid-1980s is given.

On the Eve of the Battle of Stalingrad: the First Half of the 1942 Navigation on the Volga

The paper analyses the condition of the Volga river transportation in the beginning of the 1942 navigation and the peculiarities of its organization. The author demonstrates the outcomes of the measures on improvement of the Upper-Volga, Middle-Volga and Lower Volga Steamship Lines as well as the “Volgotanker” Steamship Line. The paper concludes on the exceptional character of transportation of cargoes, oil included, on the Volga in the period.

Mobilization of the Public Financial Resources During the Great Patriotic War: the Practice of the Saratov Region

The article substantiates the necessity and possibility of wide attraction of money of the population during the Great Patriotic War, due to which the revenue part of the state budget and inflation control were largely provided. The regional practice of implementation in 1941–1945 of tax policy of the state, mobilization of means of workers through acquisition of bonds of loans, monetary and ware lotteries, placement of deposits in savings banks, and also mass national movement on creation of Fund of defense is analyzed.

Handicraft Industry of the Saratov Province in the Years of the NEP

This publication is a study at the regional level of the problems of development of handicraft industry in the years of NEP. On the materials of history of the Saratov province the nature and features of private and handicraft industry are investigated, the sources and factors of its evolution are analyzed. The author on the basis of archival materials reveals the variety of economic structures and their known continuity with the pre-revolutionary economy of the region.

Saratov Zemstvo and Prisoners of War During World War I

The given article considers problems related to the lack of working hands in agricultural sector of Saratov province during World War I. The author concludes that general mobilization most of all effected landlords’ farms of the province. One of the ways to solve the problem of workforce shortage was the wide-spread use of prisoners of war and refugees. Specific emphasis in the article is directed at the activities of Saratov zemstvo, particularly, the experience of the distribution of the limited contingent of prisoners of war in individual households is analyzed.

The Mechanism of State Control over the Activities of Public Organizations in the Early 20th Century (on the Materials of the Vyatka Province)

The article examines the process of changing the state policy in the sphere of control over the activities of public associations. Until the early twentieth century the policy of prohibition of all nonstate entities was carried out in the state. The situation began to change during the first Russian revolution, when Russian society receives a set of civil rights and freedoms. The analysis of the legal framework regulating the creation and activities of the first non-governmental organizations is given.

The Process of Municipalities Enlargement in Saratov Region as a Factor of Alteration of the Rural Settlement Structure at the Present Stage

Based on the analysis of the statistics on the alteration of the administrativeterritorial division of Saratov region, the historical process of municipalities enlargement and the change of number of rural and urban settlements is being examined and compared. The examination of rural resettlement is relevant in connection with the reorganization of the system of local government in the Russian Federation. Particular attention is being paid to detection of historical regularities that influenced the alteration and ways of transformation of the rural settlement structure in 2013–2018.

Social Security of the Population in Dagestan in the 1920s – the First Half of the1930s

On the basis of new archive documents the question of social security of the population in Dagestan in the first time of Soviet government is considered. The social security system in the beginning of its work experienced problems related to the scope of the workers. One of the features of development of social security in 1930s was its excessive state participation or paternalization. The budget of the social security was consolidated into the state budget. Insurance of people engaged in farmer’s sector has a big political importance.

The Beginning of Sovkhozes Formation in the Lower Volga Region (1917–1924): оn the Materials of Saratov and Tsaritsyn Provinces

The article, based on the archival materials, reveals previously unknown facts about the former landowners’ manors of Saratov and Tsaritsyn provinces in 1917–1924. The Soviet government’s policy, in which the lands of the former landowners were transformed into the Soviet model farms – sovkhozes is analyzed. The true state of these agrarian structures is shown, as well as reduction of acreage and livestock population is noted. The article draws conclusions concerning low profitability and a significant decline of labour productivity in the former landowners’ estates.

Revolutionary Activity of Ernst Reuters in the Saratov Volga Region (1918)

The author analyzes a short Saratov period of the course of life of a well-known German social democrat Ernst Reuter. According to the directive of the RSFSR Council of Peoples Commissars Chairman V. I. Lenin and Peoples Commissar on Nationalities J. V Stalin a German war prisoner and communist Ernst Reuter was sent to Saratov Volga Region in April 1918 where he became the leader of the Volga Region Commissariat on the Germans. He was in charge of establishing the Soviet power in German colonies and participated in the creation of the Autonomous Region of the Volga Germans.

Pages

Региональная история и краеведение

Доходы и потребление населения Нижней Волги во второй половине 1960–середине 1980-х годов

В статье анализируется динамика доходов и потребления населения Нижнего Поволжья в предперестроечное двадцатилетие. Опираясь на широкую источниковую базу, автор показал воздействие на уровень жизни волжан в 1965–1985 гг. экономического и внешнеполитического факторов. Дается оценка уровня развития советского общества в середине 1980-х гг.

Накануне битвы за Сталинград: первая половина навигации 1942 года на Волге

В статье анализируется положение волжского водного транспорта в начале навигации 1942 г., особенности ее организации. Приведены результаты проводимых мероприятий по улучшению деятельности Верхневолжского, Средневолжского, Нижневолжского речного транспорта и пароходства «Волготанкер». Формируется вывод об исключительности перевозок, в том числе нефти, по Волге в это время. Однако продолжить начатую работу в полной мере не удалось, так как летом 1942 г. обстановка резко осложнилась (особенно это касалось Нижней Волги).

Мобилизация денежных средств населения в годы Великой Отечественной войны: практика Саратовской области

В статье обосновываются необходимость и возможность широкого привлечения в годы Великой Отечественной войны денежных средств населения, за счет которых в значительной мере обеспечивались доходная часть государственного бюджета и сдерживание инфляции. Анализируется региональная практика осуществления в 1941–1945 гг. налоговой политики государства, мобилизации средств трудящихся через приобретение облигаций займов, денежно-вещевых лотерей, размещения вкладов в сберегательные кассы, а также массового народного движения по созданию фонда обороны.

Кустарно-ремесленная промышленность Саратовской губернии в годы НЭПа

Настоящая публикация представляет собой исследование на региональном уровне проблем развития кустарно-ремесленной промышленности в годы НЭПа. На материалах истории Саратовской губернии исследуются характер и особенности кустарно-ремесленной промышленности, анализируются истоки и факторы её эволюции. На основе архивных материалов раскрывается многообразие хозяйственных укладов и их известная преемственность с дореволюционной экономикой региона.

Саратовское земство и военнопленные в годы Первой мировой войны

В статье на материалах Саратовской губернии рассматриваются проблемы, связанные с нехваткой рабочих рук в сельскохозяйственном секторе в годы Первой мировой войны. Автор приходит к выводу, согласно которому всеобщие мобилизации более всего затронули именно помещичьи хозяйства губернии. Одним из способов решения проблемы нехватки трудовых ресурсов стало широкое применение труда военнопленных и беженцев.

Механизм государственного контроля за деятельностью общественных организаций в начале ХХ века (на материалах Вятской губернии)

В статье рассматривается процесс изменения государственной политики в области контроля за деятельностью общественных объединений. До начала ХХ в. в государстве проводилась политика запрета всех негосударственных образований. Ситуация меняется в период Первой русской революции, когда российское общество получает комплекс гражданских прав и свобод. Анализируется правовая база, регламентирующая создание и деятельность первых негосударственных организаций.

Опыт укрупнения муниципальных образований в Саратовской области как фактор изменения сельской поселенческой структуры на современном этапе

На основе анализа статистических данных об изменении административно-территориального деления Саратовской области исследуется исторический процесс укрупнения муниципальных образований, изменение при этом численности сельских и городских поселений. Изучение сельского расселения актуально в связи с реформой системы местного самоуправления в Российской Федерации. Особое внимание уделяется выявлению исторических закономерностей преобразования и путей трансформации сельской поселенческой структуры области на этапе 2013–2018 гг.

Социальное страхование населения в Дагестане в 1920 – первой половине 1930-х годов

На основе новых архивных документов рассматриваются вопросы социального страхования населения в Дагестане в первое 15-летие советской власти. Отмечено, что в начале функционирования системы соцстраха были трудности с охватом ею рабочих и служащих. Особенность развития соцобеспечения в 30-х гг. заключалось в его чрезмерном огосударствлении или патернализации. Бюджет соцстраха был консолидирован в государственный бюджет страны. Обращается внимание на большое политическое значение, которое придавалось соцстрахованию лиц, занятых по найму в крестьянских хозяйствах.

Начало совхозного строительства на Нижней Волге (1917–1924 гг.): на материалах Саратовской и Царицынской губерний

В статье на основе архивных документов раскрываются неизвестные страницы из истории бывших помещичьих имений в Саратовской и Царицынской губерниях в период 1917–1924 гг. Анализируется политика советской власти в отношении крупных земельных собственников, имения которых были преобразованы в советские образцовые хозяйства – совхозы. Показывается реальное состояние этих аграрных структур, отмечается сокращение поголовья скота, земельных и посевных площадей. Формулируются выводы, характеризующие низкую рентабельность и значительный спад производительности труда в бывших помещичьих имениях.

Революционная деятельность Эрнста Рейтера в Саратовском Поволжье (1918 г.)

В статье исследуется короткий саратовский период большого жизненного пути известного германского социал-демократа Эрнста Рейтера. По указанию Председателя Совнаркома РСФСР В. И. Ленина и наркома по делам национальностей И. В. Сталина германский военнопленный и коммунист Эрнст Рейтер в апреле 1918 г. был направлен в Саратовское Поволжье, где стал руководителем Поволжского комиссариата по немецким делам. Он руководил процессом установления советской власти в немецких колониях, стоял у истоков создания Автономной области немцев Поволжья.

Страницы