Regional History and Local Studies

History of the Low Volga Region in the Works by P. G. Lubomirov

The article analyzes the contribution of an outstanding Russian historian of the first half of the 20th century, in the 1920s head of the department of Russian history of Saratov University, P. G. Lyubomirov to the study of the history of the Low Volga region. The circle of research issues that were studied by the scientist was reconstructed, the reasons for his interest in the study of this problem were determined. The subject of historiographic analysis is represented by nine works of the researcher on the history of the Low Volga region, two of which have not been published yet.

The Rebel Movement in Balashov Uyezd of Saratov Gubernia During the Years of the Civil War on the Pages of Local Newspapers

The rebel movement during the years of the Civil War is one of the topical and interesting themes though scantily studied. In the light of new methodological approaches and news sources introduced in the scientific sphere there have appeared new directions of studying this problem. The paper is an attempt to consider the way the rebels are presented on the pages of local Soviet newspapers using Balashov uyezd of Saratov gubernia as an example.

George Fedotov’s Last Visit to Saratov

The author of the article disputes the opinion about the motives and nature of the Fedotov’s activities in Saratov in 1920–1922. Relying on official documents stored in the archives of St. Petersburg and Saratov, as well as sources of personal origin, the author shows that it is necessary to take into account not only ideological, but also vital, «mundane» motives of his behavior. The historian who was married shortly before arriving in Saratov needed to feed his wife and adopted daughter in the harsh conditions of the civil war in Russia.

The Election to Volost Zemsto in the Saratov Province

This article aims to analyze the process of preparing and holding elections to volost zemstvo of the Saratov province in 1917. The author comes to the conclusion that reform of the volost zemstvo by Temporary Government did not achieve the desirable result due to the lack of development of the legislation in the sphere of competence of volost zemstvo and the lack of financial independence of the new structure and absenteeism among peasants.

«New Saratov Chronicle» about the Events of 1641–1650 in Saratov

The article considers unknown pages of the history of Saratov since a quarter of a century after the restoration of the city at the end of the Time of Troubles on the left bank of the Volga. For the first time, a detailed chronology of all the currently known events that took place in this city in 1641–1650 is presented. The Saratov Chronicle, compiled about 120 years ago, is supplemented over the years, and the main sources on the history of Saratov of this period are also indicated.

Saratov University and Kondakov Institute in Prague: towards the History of Relationships (1928–1936)

In this article, the scientific relations of N. P. Kondakov’s Seminar (Archaeological Institute) in Prague with Saratov University and its structural subdivisions in the 1928–1936 are reconstructed on the basis of new archival documents. It is shown that in the interwar period Saratov University was drawn into the cultural orbit of the Russian Diaspora. Saratov scientists were involved in international intellectual contacts, which had different forms, and were expressed in book exchange, reviewing and quoting.

«These Bashi-Bazouks Locals are Worthy of Hatred», or the Reverse Side of the «Triumphal March of Soviet Power» in the Saratov Volga Region

The article attempts to rethink one of the clichés of Soviet historiography of the great Russian revolution, known as the «triumphal March» of the socialist revolution in the country. The author, on the basis of the analysis of sources of personal origin and materials of periodicals, considers political, moral and psychological collisions, and also characteristic features of usurpation of the power by Bolsheviks in Saratov and the cities of province after October revolution.

Dynamics and Structure of the City Budget in Russia in the Middle of the 19th Century (on the Example of Saratov)

The article is devoted to the financial activity of the Saratov City Duma in 1839–70. The city budget, structure of income and expenses are analyzed. The author identifies the main sources of cash receipts and the course of spending. Also he explores the peculiar relationship of the municipality and the state in this area.

Nikolai Ivanovich Kostomarov in the Cultural Environment of Saratov

Saratov historians have long been interested in Kostomarov’s impact on the cultural environment of Saratov. The discovery by Kostomarov of new sources on the history of the Saratov province and the presentation of his views on the features of the regional historical process stimulated the development of scientific knowledge in this area and influenced the social and cultural scene of the principal town of the province.

Sources about the Left Bank of Saratov (1616–1674): General Characteristics

The article considers unknown pages of the history of the left-bank Saratov in 1616–1674. Special attention is paid to the characterization of sources about events in Saratov during this period. For the first time, the most comprehensive list of all currently known published sources on the left bank of Saratov is presented. It was concluded that this list of sources can be significantly replenished as a result of targeted searches in the archives, first of all of the RGADA, the main funds in which these sources can be found are noted.

Pages

Региональная история и краеведение

История Нижнего Поволжья в трудах П. Г. Любомирова

В статье оценивается вклад выдающегося отечественного историка первой половины XX в., в 1920-х гг. бывшего заведующим кафедрой русской истории Саратовского университета, П. Г. Любомирова в изучении истории Нижнего Поволжья. Реконструирован круг научных вопросов, которые исследовались ученым, определены причины его обращения к изучению данной проблематики. В качестве предмета историографического анализа выступили девять работ ученого, посвященных истории Нижневолжского региона, две из которых не были опубликованы.

Повстанческое движение в Балашовском уезде Саратовской губернии в годы Гражданской войны на страницах местных газет

Повстанческое движение в годы Гражданской войны – одна из актуальных и интересных, но малоисследованных тем. В свете новых методологических подходов и вводимых в научный оборот источников наметились перспективные направления изучения данной проблемы. В статье предпринята попытка рассмотреть, как представлены повстанцы на страницах местных советских газет, на примере Балашовского уезда Саратовской губернии.

Последний приезд Г. П. Федотова в Саратов

В статье оспаривается мнение о мотивах и характере деятельности известного историка в Саратове в 1920–1922 гг. Опираясь на официальные документы, хранящиеся в архивах Санкт-Петербурга и Саратова, а также источники личного происхождения, автор считает, что следует учитывать не только идеологические, но и жизненные, «приземленные» мотивы его поведения. Обвенчавшемуся незадолго до приезда в Саратов историку нужно было обеспечить пропитание своей жены и приемной дочери в суровых условиях гражданской войны в России. Среди причин отъезда из Саратова важными оказались опять же личные мотивы.

Выборы в волостные земства в Саратовской губернии

В статье анализируется процесс подготовки и проведения выборов в волостные земства Саратовской губернии в 1917 г. Формулируется вывод, согласно которому реформа волостного земства Временного правительства не привела к ожидаемому результату в силу неразработанности законодательства в сфере полномочий волостного земства, отсутствия финансовой самостоятельности новой структуры и абсентеизма крестьянских масс.

«Новая Саратовская летопись» о событиях 1641–1650 гг. в Саратове

В статье рассмотрены неизвестные страницы истории Саратова спустя четверть века после восстановления города в конце Смутного времени на левом берегу Волги. Впервые представлена подробная хронология всех известных к настоящему времени событий, происходивших в городе в 1641–1650 гг.; дополнена за эти годы «Саратовская летопись», составленная 120 лет назад; указаны основные источники по истории Саратова исследуемого периода.

Саратовский университет и Археологический институт имени Н. П. Кондакова в Праге: к истории взаимоотношений (1928–1936)

В статье на основании новых архивных документов реконструируются научные связи Семинария (Археологического института) имени Н. П. Кондакова в Праге с Саратовским университетом и его структурными подразделениями в 1928–1936 гг. Констатируется, что в межвоенный период Саратовский университет оказался втянут в культурную орбиту русской диаспоры за рубежом. Саратовские ученые были вовлечены в международные интеллектуальные контакты, которые имели различные формы и выражались в книгообмене, рецензировании и цитировании.

«Эти башибузуки среди местных жителей пользуются достойной ненавистью», или обратная сторона «триумфального шествия советской власти» в Саратовском Поволжье

В статье предпринята попытка переосмысления одного из клише советской историографии эпохи Великой российской революции, известного как «триумфальное шествие» социалистической революции по стране. Автор на основе анализа источников личного происхождения и материалов периодики рассматривает политические и морально-психологические коллизии, а также характерные особенности узурпации власти большевиками в Саратове и городах губернии после октябрьского переворота.

Динамика и структура бюджета российского города в середине XIX столетия (на примере Саратова)

Статья посвящена финансовой деятельности Саратовской городской думы в 1839–1870 гг. Анализируется объем городского бюджета, структура доходов и расходов. Выявляются основные источники денежных поступлений и направления расходования средств. Рассматриваются специфические отношения муниципалитета и государства в данной сфере.

Николай Иванович Костомаров в культурной среде Саратова

Саратовские историки давно проявляют интерес к вопросу о влиянии Костомарова на культурную среду Саратова. Найденные Костомаровым новые источники по истории Саратовской губернии и презентация его взглядов на особенности исторического процесса в регионе стали стимулом к развитию научных знаний в этой области и оказали воздействие на общественно-культурную среду губернского города.

Источники о левобережном Саратове (1616–1674 гг.): общая характеристика

В статье рассматриваются неизвестные страницы истории левобережного Саратова в 1616– 1674 гг. Особое внимание уделяется впервые представленному наиболее полному списку всех известных к настоящему времени опубликованных источников о левобережном Саратове. Автор приходит к выводу, согласно которому данный список может быть значительно пополнен в результате целенаправленных поисков в архивах, прежде всего в РГАДА. Названы основные фонды, в которых могут находиться эти источники.

Страницы