Russian History

Fiction and Historical Truth in Boris Savinkov’s Memoirs

The article analyzes the literary creativity of one of the leaders of the Socialist Revolutionary Party, Boris Savinkov. The influence of creativity on the reliability of memoirs is investigated. From the standpoint of documentary facts, the objectivity of Savinkov’s memoirs as a historical source is considered. The author explores the reasons that prompted Savinkov to write memoirs. The author investigates the importance attached to the memoirs. The influence of memoirs on his contemporaries is investigated. Literary descriptions are compared with historical reality.

Books and their Readers in Russia in the Second Half of the 19th and the Beginning of the 20th Century (on Materials of the Vyatka Province)

This article examines the question of how the development of education and librarianship influenced the changing interests of readers in Russia in the second half of XIX and the early XX century. The author relies on the study of published and archival materials of the Vyatka province. The comparative analysis of the data of the Zemstvo and library statistics gives the basis to draw a conclusion about the relationship between the readers’ demand and the increase in the number of students of educational institutions.

On the History of Domestic Acculturation of the Kazakhs and the Tatars in the Russian Empire of the 19th Century

Cohabitation of the Tatars and the Kazakhs in the Russian Empire brought to life a process of mutual acculturation. On the basis of testimonies of contemporaries, its manifestations in everyday life were reconstructed: changes in traditions related to home improvement, food intake, attitudes towards clothing items. It is concluded that the recorded changes are fundamental and allow us to speak on a concrete example of the gradual formation of a single social and cultural space of the Empire.

Cavalry in the Alexander I’s Reign: Reception of the 18th Century Military Experience

The development of cavalry art in Russia is associated with the history of cavalry. We research one of the most significant periods in Russian military history – the Alexander I’s reign era (1801–1825), in the context of military discourse. A prominent role in this process played by the reception of military experience of the previous century is identified. The emphasis is on the three phases of cavalry modernization: 1801–1807, 1808–1814 and 1815–1825. The analysis made it possible to characterize the dynamics of the development of cavalry art in different periods of Alexander I’s reign.

Sergey Savelyev’s Unfulfilled Revolution

The article is devoted to the analysis of S. I. Savelyev’s works in the context of evolution of Russian historiography of the collectivization. The author notices that Savelyev began his career as the consecutive supporter of ideas of historiographic revolution during 1980-1990s. However, subsequently he offered revision of these approaches and estimates. The author considers the evolution of the views of the historian as an example of changes of events in 1990-2000s in an agrarian historiography.

The Dismantling of the Single Union and the Soviet System of the International Relations in August – December 1991

The article analyzes the specifics of the process of dismantling the Union state and the Soviet mechanism of interethnic interaction. The events associated with the birth of a new geopolitical reality in the former Soviet Union are studied. The sources of future conflicts in the emerging post-Soviet space are studied. The conclusion about the mobilizing value of ethno-nationalism as the main driving force in the disintegration of a single state is made.

Interaction of Ministry of Foreign Affairs with the Press under the Ministry of A. P. Izvolsky

The article considers history of cooperation of Ministry of Foreign Affairs with the press under the ministry of A. P. Izvolsky, based on materials of Archive of Russian Empire Foreign Policy, which has not previously been the object of a special historical research for the specified period of time. Key directions of work with the press are determined and characterized. Special attention is given to the organization of telegraph agency work, a primary source of information that newspapers based their publication materials on.

Clerical Culture of National Institutions of Pre-revolutionary Russia and Some Features of the Document Performance in Local Autonomy

Based on documentary sources, the article analyzes the peculiarities of the documentary culture of zemstvo self-government bodies starting from the second half of the 19th century till 1917. The article examines the main types and the types of documents that functioned in the system of documenting the activities of zemstvos and their subordinate institutions.

Poetic Images of the Liberation War of Russia in the Balkans (on the Materials of Magazines of the 1870s «Niva» and «Pchela»)

The article is devoted to the figurative and artistic representation of the Russian-Turkish war of 1877–1878 on the pages of popular Russian magazines of the 1870s «Niva» and «Pchela». Analyzing the texts of poems published in periodicals,  the author examines the historical and cultural context of the formation and evolution of images of the liberation war of Russia in the Balkans. The author of the article analyzes the cultural and psychological components of the perception of the  “Slavic question” in Russian society in the 1870s.

To the Question of Sources of Settlement of the Customs and Tavern Administrative Equipment in the Voronezh District in the 17th Century

The article is devoted to the problem of settlement of the customs and tavern administrative apparatus in the Voronezh district in the 17th century. The author analyzes the social origin of customs and tavern heads, both as elected on faith, and tax farmers. The article concerns the mechanism of electing of customs and tavern cross-kissers and clerks.

Pages

Отечественная история

Вымысел и историческая правда в мемуарах Б. В. Савинкова

В статье анализируется творчество одного из лидеров партии эсеров Б. В. Савинкова. Исследуется влияние творческого начала на достоверность мемуаров. С позиций документальной фактографичности рассматриваются объективность мемуаров Савинкова как исторического источника, причины, побудившие Савинкова писать мемуары, значение, которое придавал им сам автор, а также влияние мемуаров на его современников. Литературные описания сравниваются с исторической действительностью.

Книга и ее читатели в России во второй половине XIX – начале XX века (по материалам Вятской губернии)

В статье на материалах Вятской губернии исследуется вопрос о том, как повлияло развитие образования и библиотечного дела на изменение читательского интереса в России во второй половине XIX – начале XX в. Выводы автора опираются на изучение комплекса опубликованных и архивных источников. На основе сравнительного анализа данных земской и библиотечной статистики установлена взаимосвязь между читательским спросом и увеличением количества учащихся.

К истории бытовой аккультурации казахов и татар в Российской империи XIX века

Совместное проживание в составе Российской империи вызвало к жизни процесс взаимной аккультурации татар и казахов. На основании свидетельств современников реконструированы его проявления в быту: изменение традиций, связанных с обустройством жилища, прием пищи, отношение к элементам одежды. Сделан вывод, согласно которому зафиксированные изменения являются фундаментальными и позволяют говорить на конкретном примере о постепенном формировании единого социокультурного пространства империи.

Кавалерия в царствование Александра I: рецепция военного опыта XVIII столетия

Развитие кавалерийского искусства в России тесно связано с историей кавалерии. В контексте военного дискурса исследуется один из самых значимых для русской военной истории периодов – эпоха царствования Александра I (1801–1825). Важнейшую роль в этом процессе сыграла рецепция военного опыта XVIII столетия. Акцент в работе сделан на состоянии вопроса в три различные фазы модернизации кавалерии, связанные хронологически с несколькими периодами: 1801–1807 гг., 1808–1814 гг. и 1815–1825 гг.

Несостоявшаяся революция С. И. Савельева

Статья посвящена анализу работ С. И. Савельева в контексте эволюции российской историографии коллективизации. Отмечается, что Савельев начинал свой творческий путь как последовательный сторонник идей историографической революции рубежа 1980–1990-х гг. Однако впоследствии им была предложена ревизия этих подходов и оценок. Эволюция взглядов историка рассматривается как пример изменений, произошедших в 1990–2000-е гг. в аграрной историографии.

Демонтаж единого Союза и советской системы межнациональных отношений в августе – декабре 1991 года

В статье анализируется специфика процесса демонтажа союзной государственности и советского механизма межэтнического взаимодействия. Исследуются события, связанные с  рождением новой геополитической реальности на просторах бывшего СССР. Изучаются истоки будущих конфликтов на формирующемся постсоветском пространстве. Формулируется вывод о мобилизующем значении этнонационализма как главной движущей силы в распаде единого государства.

Взаимодействие Министерства иностранных дел с прессой при министре иностранных дел А. П. Извольском

В статье рассматривается история взаимодействия Министерства иностранных дел (МИД) с прессой при министре А. П. Извольском на основе материалов Архива внешней политики Российской империи, которая ранее не была объектом специального исторического исследования. Определяются ключевые направления работы с прессой, даются их характеристики. Особое внимание уделяется вопросу организации работы государственного телеграфного агентства – этого первичного источника информации, на материалах которого основывались публикации газет, созданного в начале XX в. при непосредственном участии МИД.

Делопроизводственная культура государственных учреждений дореволюционной России и особенности документирования деятельности земского самоуправления

На основании документальных источников в статье анализируются особенности делопроизводственной культуры земских органов самоуправления в период второй половины XIX в. – 1917 г., рассматриваются основные типы и виды документов, имевшие место в системе документирования деятельности земств и подведомственных им учреждений.

Поэтические образы освободительной войны России на Балканах (по материалам журналов 1870-х годов «Нива» и «Пчела»)

Статья посвящена образно-художественной репрезентации Русско-турецкой войны 1877–1878 гг. на страницах популярных российских журналов 1870-х гг. «Нива» и «Пчела». На основе анализа текстов стихотворений, опубликованных в периодических изданиях, рассматриваются историко-культурный контекст формирования и эволюции образов освободительной войны России на Балканах, культурно-психологическая составляющая восприятия «славянского вопроса» в русском обществе в 1870-е годы.

К вопросу об источниках комплектования таможенного и кабацкого административного аппарата Воронежского уезда в XVII веке

Cтатья посвящена проблеме комплектования таможенного и кабацкого административного аппарата в Воронежском уезде в XVII в. Анализируется социальное происхождение воронежских таможенных и кабацких голов, как откупщиков, так и вступивших в должность «по выбору». Предпринимается попытка проследить механизм избрания таможенных и кабацких целовальников и дьячков. Рассматривается соотношение откупного и «верного» способа сбора таможенных и питейных пошлин на протяжении столетия, составлен коллективный портрет головы Воронежской таможенной избы и кабака (кружечного двора) XVII в.

Страницы